The Chair Academy : 2010 Exemplary Leader Award Winners
Chair Academy    
About banner

2010 Exemplary Leader Award Winners

The Chair Academy, an organization dedicated to advancing academic and administrative leadership training worldwide, takes great pride in announcing this year's 2010 Exemplary Leader Award Winners. This award represents a leader, or team of leaders, in post-secondary institutions worldwide who have modeled best practices to advance academic and adminstrative leadership development.

What makes this award so special is that each leader was nominated by someone within their college. There can be no higher honor than being recognized by your colleagues.


Individual Award Recipients


Bryan Albrecht
Gateway Technical College, Kenosha, WI

Kathleen Bell
Academic Dean,
Century College,
White Bear Lake, MN

Michael Berndt
Dean of Planning and Institutional Effectiveness,
Normandale Community College, Bloomington, MN

Noel Bezette
Lead Faculty Education Program,
Lone Star College - Kingwood, Kingwood. TX

Judy Bodenweiser
Natural Science Department Chair,
State College of Forida - Manatee/Sarasota,
Bradenton, FL

Tom Bornhorst
Dean, School of Hospitality
and Tourism,
Southern Alberta Institute of Technology, Calgary, AB, Canada

Margaret Brunn
Leadership Development Institute Coordinator,
Wisconsin Technical College System, Madison, WI

Clare A. Camacho
Guam Community College, Barrigada, GU

Bill Campion
Ranger College, Ranger,TX

Sonja Chamberlin
Academic Chair, School of Health and Public Safety
Southern Alberta Institute
of Technology,
Calgary, AB, Canada

Teresa Costouros
Grant MacEwan University, Edmonton, AB, Canada

Craig Dent
Program Director, Believe Achieve Inspire Leadership Program, Greenvale Victoria, Australia

Mary Diedrich
Dean of Student Success,
North Hennepin
Community College,
Brooklyn Park, MN

Lorrie Fox
Director of Nursing,
Lake Superior College,
Duluth, MN

Sue Goodbourne
Head, Technical & Further Education(TAFE) Development,
University of Ballarat,
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia

Diana Grahn
Chair, Humanities Division,
Metropolitan Community College-Longview,
Lee's Summit, MO

Robert Haines
Vice President of Finance & Operations
Ridgewater College,
Willmar, MN

Sharon Hobden
Associate Dean, Health & Community Studies,
Grant MacEwan University, Edmonton, AB, Canada

Patrick M. Johns
Anoka-Ramsey Community College, Coon Rapids, MN

J. Ronald Langrell III
Executive Vice President,
Riverland Community College, Austin, MN

Nancy Lightfield
Dean, Center for
Transportation Studies,
Blackhawk Technical College, Janesville, WI

Bill Maki
Vice President, Finance and Administration,
Bemidji State University and Northwest Tech College,
Bemidji, MN

Randolph Manning
Associate Dean of
Academic Affairs,
Suffolk County Community College, Brentwood, NY

Shannon McCasland
Assistant Director, Student Life,
Aims Community College,
Greeley, CO

Andy McGrath
Manager, Grant Administration and Budget Development,
Blackhawk Technical College, Janesville, WI

Robert C. Messina, Jr.
Burlington County College, Pemberton, NJ

Brian Moukperian
Dean, School of Transportation,
Southern Alberta
Institute of Technology,
Calgary, AB, Canada

Beth Pitonzo
Vice President for Academic Affairs
Central New Mexico
Community College,
Albuquerque, NM

Marlene Raasok
Executive Dean,
Conestoga College,
Kitchener, ON, Canada

Jane Reinke
Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs,
North Hennepin
Community College,
Brooklyn Park, MN

Janet M. Rogers
Dean, Student Life,
Columbus State Community College, Columbus, OH

Jane Shearer
Associate Dean of
Academic Affairs,
Suffolk County
Community College,
Brentwood, NY

Dwayne Smith
Vice President for Academic Affairs,
Harris-Stowe State University,
Saint Louis, MO

Lori Voss
Vice President of Administration,
Minnesota West Community
and Tech College,
Worthington, MN

Dave Weber
Chief of Strategic Operations,
Rochester Community
& Technical College,
Rochester, MN

Team Award Recipients

Dave Marshall & Robin Fisher
From Mt. Royal University

Achieving the Dream Core Team

From left to right… Donna McNatt, Assistant Professor, Mathematics, Dr. Jennifer Spielvogel, Vice President Planning & Institutional Effectiveness, Dr. Jacquelyn Joseph-Silverstein, Executive Vice President Academic & Student Affairs, Ms. Supriya Draviam, Assistant Professor, English, Ms. Karen Miller, Dean, Student Affairs, Dr. Patricia Mintz, Vice President Student SuccessDr. Belinda S. Miles, Eastern Campus President,Ms. Lindsay English, Faculty
& Academic Professional Development

Believe Achieve Inspire Leadership Program Committee

Craig Dent, Dr Segu Zuhair, Shabia Mantoo and Mohammad Helmy.
Not pictured is Umar Batchelor.

The Collegewide Outcomes Assessment Team (COAT)

Samantha Veneruso (Pictured) and Ben Nicholson, Collegewide Coordinators; Mary Ellen Glowacki, Administrative Coordinator, Kathy Wessman, Chief Policy, Planning and Research officer; Mark Alves, Rebecca Thomas, Nawal Benmouna, Greg Ryan - faculty cadre; Ruth Ciccocelli and Debra Morris - OIRA

Diversity Team From Ridgewater College

Back row, left to right: Thomas Tie, Edel Fernández, Ronald Ferguson
Front row, left to right: Jennifer Gibson, Mary Myers

EARS Retention Team From Saint Paul College

Thomas Matos, Chief Student Services Officer, Molly O'Brien, Associate Dean for Student Success, Katie Yep, Registrar, Meng-Chi Chien, IT Specialist, and Clint Bueling, Retention Coordinator.

Living Our Vision of Excellence (LOVE)Committee

Mary Chatigny (Chair), Ellen Grondine, Judith Kamber,
Kathy Ronaldson, and Nora Sheridan

M-State President's Cabinet

Front row: Carol Totland (Assistant to the President); Dacia Johnson (Chief of Human
resources); Pat Wilber (VP College Advancement); Dave Overby (CIO); Anna Wasescha (Provost-Fergus Falls); Back row: Pat Nordick (CFO); Tom Koehnlein (Chief of Facilities);
Barry Lane (CAO); Jerry Migler (Ex VP and Provost-Moorhead); Cris Valdez
(Provost-Wadena and Detroit Lakes

Northeast Higher Education District Leadership Team

Dr. Ken Simberg, Provost of Hibbing Community College, Dr. Tina Royer, Provost of Mesabi Range Community and Technical College, Dr. Mary DuBois, Provost of Vermilion Community College, Dr. Michael Johnson, Provost of Itasca Community College and Interim Provost of Rainy River Community College

Diversity & Equity Action Council

Members of the Council in Photo – From Left to Right: Lisa Payne, Research and Planning Analyst, Sophia Georgiakaki, Assistant Professor of Math, Hal Brown, Counselor , Meg Garvey, Counselor, Seth Thompson, Director of Multicultural Services, Susan Cerretani, Assistant Professor of English, Karl Madeo, Director of College Now,
Amy Trueman, Director of Counseling, Career, and Transfer Services , Khaki Wunderlich, Dean of Organizational Success & Learning, Karen Macier, Chief Development Officer, Carol Sammis, Instructor of Early Childhood,
Carolyn Boone, Coordinator of Access and Equity Services

Other Members of the Council – Not in Photo (alphabetical):
Melinda Case, Office of Public Safety Secretary, Sharon Dovi, Human Resources Administrator
Maureen Edmonds, Coordinator of ESOL Programs, T.G. Imo, Professor of Accounting, Kimberly
Kessler, Associate Director of Residence Life, Leah MacLeod, Instructor of Math, Linda Pasto, Professor
of Nursing, Jessica Schifilliti, Multicultural Services Secretary, John Sheehan, Adjunct Instructor,
Kristina Belanger, Community Member



[an error occurred while processing this directive]