The Chair Academy : 2009 Exemplary Leader Award Winners
Chair Academy    
About banner

2009 Exemplary Leader Award Winners

The Chair Academy, an organization dedicated to advancing academic and administrative leadership training worldwide, takes great pride in announcing this year's 2009 Exemplary Leader Award Winners. This award represents a leader, or team of leaders, in post-secondary institutions worldwide who have modeled best practices to advance academic and adminstrative leadership development.

What makes this award so special is that each leader was nominated by someone within their college. There can be no higher honor than being recognized by your colleagues.


Individual Award Recipients


Jose Adames
Provost-Plainfield Campus, Union County College
Cranford, New Jersey

Pedro Arce
Chair, Department of Chemical Engineering
Tennessee Technological University, Cookeville, Tennessee

Sherrill Brown
Chair, Research Council, Grant MacEwan College,
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

John Burgeson
Dean, Continuing Studies, St. Cloud State University,
St. Cloud, Minnesota

Irene Burkland
Strategic Consultant, Gallup, Omaha, Nebraska

Arthur Coren
Dean, School of Business, Kwantlen Polytechnic University, Surrey, British Columbia, Canada

Alice Cowan
Director, Counseling & Transfer Articulation, Danville Area Community College, Danville, Illinois

Betsy Davis
Dean of Workforce Development, Florida Community College at Jacksonville, Jacksonville, Florida

Tamara Davis
Faculty Liaison and English Instructor, Northern Oklahoma College, Tonkawa, Oklahoma

Ernie Friend
Director, Florida Community College at Jacksonville,
Jacksonville, Florida

Scott Geddis
Faculty/Director of Athletics, Phoenix College,
Phoenix, Arizona

Linda Guzzo
Dean, Continuing Education & Economic Development, Capital Community College, Hartford, Connecticut

Lee Haldeman
Associate Vice President, Academic, SAIT,
Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Michael Hatton
Vice President Academic, Humber College,
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Fannie Hewlett
Provost and Vice-President of Academic Affairs, Chattanooga State Technical Community College, Chattanooga, TN

Dave Kato
Chair, Academic Council, Grant MacEwan College,
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Dorsey Kendrick
President, Gateway Community College,
New Haven, Connecticut

Maria Kouppas
Head of School Business and Hospitality, Victoria University, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Irene Lewis
President and CEO, SAIT Polytechnic,
Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Ruth Liberman
Humanities Division Chair, Adirondack Community College, Queensbury, New York

Loren Lippencott
Associate Dean, Health Human & Protective Services Blackhawk Technical College, Janesville, Wisconsin

Barbara Mafnas
Faculty Coordinator, Medical Assisting Program,
Guam Community College, Barrigada, Guam

Susan May
President and Chief Executive Officer, Fox Valley Technical College, Appleton, Wisconsin

Ana Nasser
Director Child Development Center,
Danville Area Community College, Danville, Illinois

Patricia Owen
Division Director, Liberal Arts and Social Science, Northwestern Connecticut Community College, Winsted, Connecticut

Myra Peavyhouse
Dean, Humanities Division, Roane State Community College, Harriman, Tennessee

LaDonn People
Professor of Occupational Therapy Technology, Wayne County Community College District, Detroit, Michigan

Shirley Pippens
President, Suffolk County Community College,
Selden, New York

Kathryn Rhodes
Dean Student Academic Support services,
Roane State Community College, Harriman, Tennessee

Matthew Robinson
Assistant Professor Mathematics, Tallahassee Community College, Tallahassee, Florida

Billie Sanders
Chair, Exercise, Nutrition, and Sport Sciences,
Sinclair Community College, Dayton, Ohio

Linda Schwandt
Dean, General Studies and Educational Services,
Western Technical College, La Crosse, Wisconsin

Jeffrey Smith
Instructional Program Manager, Florida Community College at Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL

Janet Swinnich
Professor of Physics and Engineering Science, Tompkins Cortland Community College, Dryden, New York

George Tvelia
College Assoc. Dean - Professional Advancement,
Suffolk County Community College, Selden, NY

Connie Willfahrt
Vice President - Student Affairs, Mid-State Technical College, Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin

Dianne Williams
Director, D.E.W. Consultancy Services,
Donvale, Victoria, Australia
Team Award Recipients

John A. Logan College and Career Readiness Team
John A. Logan College, Carterville, Illinois

Dr. John O’Keefe, John A. Logan College Trustee Member, Mike Hopkins, John A. Logan College Trustee Member, Dr. Robert Mees, President, Dr. Julia Schroeder, Vice President of Instruction, Dr. Denise Crews, Associate Dean of Education, Mabel Hayes, Director of Special Projects, Toyin Fox, Director of Educational Programming

Ad Hoc Committee on Student Enrollment Management
Ivy Tech Community College, Evansville, Tennessee

Gloria Coons, Administrative Assistant, Applied Science - Elaine Leonard, Registrar's Office - Stacie Coley, Registrar's Office - Molly Pease, Admissions Office - Dora Jones, Admissions Office

Center for Historic Preservation
Middle Tennessee State University, Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Laura Holder (Tennessee Civil War National Heritage Area Manager), Ann Hendrix (Center Secretary), Elizabeth Moore (Center Fieldwork Coordinator), Stacey Graham (Center Research Professor), Cindy Duke (Center Executive Aide) Seated (left-right): Anne-Leslie Owens (Center Manager), Van West (Center Director), Caneta Hankins (Center Assistant Director)

Mid-East Tennessee Regional P-16 Council’s Standard
Walters State Community College, Morristown, Tennessee

Dr. Wade McCarney, President, Walters State Community College, Dr. John LaPrise, Dean of Mathematics Division, Walters State Community College, Mr. Terry Acuff, Director, Grainger County Schools, Dr. Lori Campbell, Vice President, Academic Affairs, Walters State Community College, Ms. Cathy Woods, Coordinator of Technical Education, Co-Coordinator P-16, Ms. Linda Roberts, Dean, Distance Education, Coordinator of P-16

[an error occurred while processing this directive]